The Department of Physics was established in 1962 in the University Campus, Hazratbal, of the erstwhile Jammu and Kashmir University, Srinagar to impart teaching and training to the students from J & K State leading to the Master’s degree in Physics. Prior to the establishment of the Department in the valley, desirous students from the state had to go outside the state to obtain their Master’s degree. Of the 25 students inducted in a batch, admissions to 50% seats were reserved for candidates representing Jammu province and Kashmir province respectively. The admission policy continued till 1967 – 68 when Jammu & Kashmir University was bifurcated to respective Jammu University and Kashmir University in 1969. At present 63 students are admitted every year for post-graduate studies.


MOU signed between University of Kashmir and Oak Ridge National Laboratory USA in 2010. The Researchers of our University can use the facilities available at Oak ridge National Laboratory including the world’s fastest supercomputer – JAGUAR Modern computational facility put in place recently with upgradation of laboratories Good number of students joined premier research...more

Selected Collaborations: International

Institute of Astronomy, CambridgeUniversity, UK Physics Division, Oak Ridge National Laboratory, PO Box 2008, Oak Ridge, TN 37831, USA Department of Physics, University of Tennessee, Knoxville, TN 37996, USA Joint Institute of Nuclear Astrophysics, University of Notre Dame, Notre Dame, Indiana 46556, USA Physik-Department, Technische Universitat Munchen, D-85747Garching, Germany Themba Lab... more